Getting Started - v4.0

Aug 8, 2011 at 5:45 PM

All,

I'm starting from square 1... I've installed the library on my machine but if compelled to admit, am a complete noob with the library.
(Perhaps even a noob with respect to Crosssite Scripting in general.)

I've copied the DLLs:
AntiXSSLibrary.dll
HtmlSanitizationLibrary.dll

to the BIN folder on my development server but really, not sure what to next, nor how best to use the library - using the library at all !
I also saw a post here regards moving (antixssmodule.config) to the web server but v4.0 didn't seem to create one... v3.1 did however.

I've also had a look at this: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms998274.aspx and feel for the most part , my web app doesn't expose a lot of the vulnerabilites expressed... For example , I rarely use RESPONSE.WRITE().

In any event, I have a new app in development in which I'll be working to build in the libray. 
The most obvious place where I'll work to implement the libray regards a form that will heavily depend on user input.
Beyond that, not really sure how to take more advantage of the library.

I DO understand usage of the library is situation; however, are the placed in a web app in which the library should be used that perhaps a noob developer may overlook ?  For example, does one attempt to process every control returned to the server for validation?

Will appreciate any advice you can offer - and thx for reading : )

Coordinator
Aug 8, 2011 at 10:33 PM

Well it depends on

a) Your project type - WebForms or MVC and

b) What you do with any input your receive.

AntiXSS does not provide validation - what it does do is ensure that when you output something to a web page that any attempted XSS payload is properly handled. So, when you process the form and spit results back to the user then any output that has come from input should be encoded.

Aug 8, 2011 at 10:49 PM

thank you for the prompt reply!
- Your project type: WebForms